CSI's Concealed Weapons Permit course for the State of South Carolina covers all legal requirements and more.
If you are interested in attending CSI's next available CWP Certification Course please send us a message by following this link.
CSI teaches a SLED approved curriculum to obtain a South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit. You must be 21 years of age and a resident of South Carolina to take this class. *You can be 36 months younger if accompanied by a guardian but the application cannot be submitted until age 21 and must be submitted within 3 years of course completion.
The course will last approximately 8 hours and will cover a state mandated classroom session to cover basic gun safety and handling, South Carolina laws pertaining to carrying a firearm, legal use of force, storage and much more. There is also a state required 50 question written test and 50 round shooting course of fire. The shooting qualification will consist of several sequences of fire from various yardages up to 15 yards..You must pass the written test and the shooting test to be considered for your permit.
CSI will take your fingerprints for the application and will mail the completed application for you.
You will need to bring your handgun with at least 50 rounds of ammunition, eye and ear protection, standard hip holster and belt, and your valid South Carolina Driver's License with your current address on front to the training. (Your current address must match your South Carolina Driver's License.)
The cost for the course is $125. This covers all expenses including the $50 state fee, fingerprinting, and certified letter to mail the application.
CWP Applicant Checklist for Day of Class:
1. Bring completed and printed CWP Application from SLED website. Click here for link to application. (If you are unable to access application online CSI will make special arrangements.)
2. Bring the handgun you will be qualifying with on the firing range. (If you do not have access to a handgun please let us know in advance before the day of class and CSI will try to accomodate you.)
3. Bring at least 50 rounds of ammunition for the handgun you will be firing. The qualifying course of fire is 50 rounds. (100 rounds of ammunition is recommeded to be brought if you wish to practice before qualifying.)
4. Bring hearing and eye protection. (If you do not have hearing and eye protection CSI will provide safety glasses and hearing protection for you.)
5. Bring your pistol holster (hip type), belt (appropriate to hold holster and handgun), pants (with belt loops), appropriate shoes for outdoors (no high heels, flip flops or sandals), other outdoor essentials as you may need (sunscreen, bug spray, etc.)
6. Bring your South Carolina issued driver's license. (Your current address must match on your application and your South Carolina issued driver's license.)